Can FWB Become Friends With Potential?

Recently jackfrombkln contributed to a great discussion on the subtle differences between friends with benefits, f*ck buddies, and booty calls. He said that FWB were actual friends who enjoyed doing things together, including have sex, but just weren’t relationship material for whatever reason. F*ck buddies often started out as people dating, then they started having sex, but realized something was missing, but they haven’t stopped having sex…yet. I don’t really need to explain booty calls. You’re called after 11 p.m. to come over and perform a service, there’s not a whole lot of verbal communicating going on, and there’s no relationship to speak of. jackfrombkln‘s delivery is classic, though, so you should check it out anyway, just because.

Last summer I was involved in a FWB relationship. We went out on a couple dates, and by the third date, I could sense he was just going along with the motions, so I ended things. He said something about knowing how we would never get married–to this day, I still don’t know the precise reason why not–but he wanted to continue being friends. We were practically neighbors, we had a lot in common, and there was a certain shared level of intelligence that was reassuring–neither of us felt like we had to talk down to the other. We’d go to the movies, go the beach, go to dinner.

All was beautiful, until the flirtation really started building up. I was actually at another guy’s house when my friend got randy and started texting about the slightly inappropriate thoughts he was having. Since this guy had fallen asleep on me, and my friend was starting to send me pictures, I shamelessly bailed, and headed over to his house.

This was a forty-five minute drive. We had a lot of time to second-guess and psychoanalyze this decision of taking our friendship to the FWB level. Were we prepared for the affect this could have on our friendship? Were we mature enough to handle it? The big question was I, the slightly more emotional girl, going to be able to separate sex from a relationship? A part of me was uncertain, but I was intrigued enough to try.

And so began the summer of Movie Man. I will call him that because he loves movies more than anyone else I know. Movie Man and I went to the movies with his friends, and we went to his friend’s house for MM’s birthday celebration and a hilarious tournament on the Wii.  When MM had friends from work over for a last-minute BBQ/wiffleball game, he invited me to come, and all the girls seemed to think I was his girlfriend, and if I wasn’t, I should be. Again, we went to the beach with his co-worker and her friend,. When he went up to Cape Cod for a week, half of the time he was going to be by himself, the other time with his childhood best friend. He invited me to come, and on a whim, I went and we had an amazing time. He showed me his favorite places, we took hilarious photos, we spent a crazy amount of time together, and we had the best sex.

It all had to come to an end, though, didn’t it? I had to stupidly, predictably, fall in love. He had to repeat that he would never marry me (wtf, dude!). He told me how this was all he could do. His ex had gotten frustrated with him because it took so many months for him to even accept the title of boyfriend. I thought, you’re 39 years old. Grow up, already. And so, as painful as it was, I said goodbye to my FWB, and goodbye to my friend almost completely for several months. We reunited for a movie around New Year’s but it wasn’t the same. At least we’ve picked up our email correspondence. As much he sucked as a FWB, I do miss our conversations.

Then there was Superman. I’m not exactly sure how to classify him. It was about seven years ago when we met in the open mic circuit. He was a sweet, slightly nerdy friend, or so I thought. We talked at the open mics, I cheered for him and his band when they played, but that was it. One day, I took him on his invitation to come to a party at his house after one band show. That’s when everything changed. We were sitting next to each other, and while one girl seemed to really want to get into his pants, he was slowly making moves on me. I realized there was this whole other man inside him, the incredible tiger of a lover.

So began our relationship. Except we weren’t exactly boyfriend and girlfriend. We saw each other at least once or twice a week. I was limited by my health in what activity I could do, so I couldn’t go to all the shows he invited me to. He’d call from parties and say he wished I was there. I missed out on huge aspects of his life. But when I could come over afterward, we’d play guitar for one another, talk for hours, and make love for even more. It was a peaceful little existence until I wanted more. I wanted labels and reassurance that he wasn’t sleeping with his groupies as well. He naturally freaked that I was no longer just laid back, and “letting things flow”. And then he and his cousin decided to move to Florida.

We kept in touch. When I moved to Las Vegas, he called me and told me how sick he had gotten with Crohn’s disease, how it nearly had taken his life. He spoke of how much more compassion and understanding he had for what I lived through with my autoimmune disease. In and out of my life he came. When I broke up with that boyfriend, moving back to the East Coast permanently, he would call when came back to the state and we’d spend time together. He met the new boyfriend. He came to my 30th birthday gathering.  I was there for him when he reunited with his alcoholic, drug-addicted father. When it was time for my 31th, we admitted attraction was still there, and our respective partners were not still, so we acted on it. We played music, talked for hours, and made love, admitted how long it had been but how things didn’t feel so different at all. Business was bringing him  up to the area much more frequently, so he called whenever he came home.

Suddenly friends turned into FWB into f* buddies. When my life became too busy or unpredictable, gone went the movies or concerts. Then it was texts that read: “You wanna come over. My mom goes to bed at like 9:30. You can come over at 10. We can watch movies and cuddle. I just want to hold you so bad.” I thought to myself, what are we, 17 again? It began to feel like we had transitioned from real friends into booty call, and I told him that I didn’t want that. I had matured to a place in my life where booty calls were empty and meaningless and basically a waste of my time. Superman appreciated that and hoped we could still be friends.

He texted this past Mother’s Day when he came home. We’re both dating. We’re both happy. There was no talk of getting together. My instincts were correct. Sad after seven years of friendship, but I guess every relationship has an expiration date.

I would like to posit that there is yet another category that fits in this no strings attached category. He is more than a booty call, but you don’t see him often enough to comfortably fit him into FWB. You probably used to date him quite passionately. Now he lives out of state, so you never see him. He sometimes calls or texts out of the blue and remembers odd but sweet things about you that make you think, wow, he still cares quite a bit, or has nostalgia about what we once had like I do. Right now, I think of HH, who in his grief, clung to me like a drowning man clings to a makeshift raft. He literally clung to me at the burial of his sister and later at the reception, pulling me to his side, squeezing my hand. Smiling at me as if I was the best sight he’d seen in years. It was so obvious that my cynical best friend had said, “I’d say HH was definitely very glad to see you.” Another friend joked that I would be the one to convince him to move back to town.

Well, he was glad to see me. Acting like a silly, old couple trying to reclaim our teenage years, we looked for a familiar place to park just to talk, or so I thought. It was romantic, the stars were out, the frogs and crickets were chirping, it was chilly enough to need each others heat, and the next thing I know, we’re making out in his truck like we’re 16. But we also talked for hours about life and loss, about love and loss, about what the future might hold for each of us, about our dreams and goals. We were a huge release for each other.

After a few random texts in the week afterward, I just signed it up to sympathy f* buddies. But then he sounded panicked when he heard I might be considering grad school far, far away. Then he sent a text when I changed my profile picture, “Nice picture,” he commented. Stalker, I thought, with a smile. And then today, when I wanted some reassurance, he texted, “Of course we’re friends.” Oh, “And I just bought a house three miles from you.” I swallowed, unable to comprehend the news after my three hours of sleep. What?? Apparently he’s going to rent it out while still living down South. But he’s keeping his ties up here. Is this a new category: Friends With Potential? Maybe I just need more sleep.

7 thoughts on “Can FWB Become Friends With Potential?

    • Yeah, not sure I’m buying it for myself, but I think somewhere out there, it exists. You hear about those rare couples who finally get it right after 30, even 50 years apart, and they acknowledge that they really are meant to be more than a memory or a “what-if” but a “love is” now.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Can FWB Become Friends With Potential? « Singleinmy30s's -- Topsy.com

  2. This was a great read. I’m looking forward to seeing how this develops. The key as always I think, is being as honest as possible with yourself, and seeing things as they are and not as you want them to be.

    oxo
    JFB

    • So true. It’s very easy to get caught up in this fantasy of how you wish things could be instead of looking at the reality. HH keeps making sweet and overwhelming re-appearances lately, but he’s heading back South on the weekend, so that puts a … or . on that.

  3. Thank you for your inspirational story. I went from best friends to fwb/best friends then best friends and I told him how I fell in love with him. We lived together over a year. I helped him go through cancer and he helped me through grief. I moved 2 hours away and I miss all the fun times with him. His smile, his smell and the way he tickled and touched me. He says he misses me and wants me to move back/ not with him and go into business with him. I want my best friend back but not sure my heart will stand just friends. I do want him happy. Chicabrat/firenumone

Leave a Reply

