No Blogger Is An Island

This post was partially inspired by mychickenfeed‘s great  Message in a Bottle post. Go read it!

A dating and relationship blogger is a mysterious animal. To the untrained, outside eye, we are a group of narcissists who get off on spilling our guts to strangers. We get a high when someone reaffirms what we’ve shared with a comment or shares our posts with their own readers. It appears as if we are simply artists, who carefully craft our words for a little sympathy here, a little humor there, and some sexy naughtiness in between. Little does the outside world know about that beautiful network of community, fellowship and neighborly love that we build amongst ourselves, crisscrossing blogs and twitter feeds like spiderwebs.

Even as I spill out gut-wrenching entries that reveal pain or confusion that I am going through, I am indeed aware that somewhere out there someone else might be reading this. This brings me an embarrassing amount of comfort. It shows me that I am not really alone out here in this small town in Connecticut.

When someone takes the time and effort to connect with me on a comment, I feel solidarity. Yes, someone else is going or has gone through this before. Or someone has the wisdom and cajones to tell me to “wake up, SoloAt30, you need to drop this guy like a bad habit,” giving me that extra encouragement and push I need to make that call I’ve been knowing I need to make to end a destructive relationship. Most recently, I especially have jstedham, TheSingleFilez, mychickenfeed, Taylor Cast, MyPixieBlog, and the mysterious Jean to thank.

I have friends and family in my daily life who are there to provide support and encouragement. Yet there is something about the anonymity of my blog that allows me to feel free to share details I may not always even tell one of my closer friends. You may judge, but I won’t feel it so acutely. You may disagree, but I can respect it better because I hear it from the distance of the web. Best of all, from my words alone, I know that some of you may start to sincerely care for my well being and are looking out for me like the sister or extra brother I never had. There is something extremely reassuring about coming to the home of my blog with my thoughts, feelings and words, knowing you will read them and treat me with care.

I’ve had fellow bloggers DM me to act as mentors. I’ve been DM’ed out of concern I was making the right choices. I’ve been welcomed with open arms to a lovely and amazing community of fabulously talented bloggers and all-around awesome human beings.  No blogger needs to be an island, and for this I am eternally grateful. Thank you, my dear readers!

9 thoughts on “No Blogger Is An Island

  1. 🙂 i know what you mean. i have been having such a rough time and you and many others have been there for support and encouragement. it is a community and it’s a wonderful one to belong to. i wish you so much happiness and strength.

  2. What a beautiful post!

    It’s funny just before I read this I was thinking how crazy it is that I’ve become so connected to so many bloggers that I have yet to meet in person. Despite the physical distance between us all there is definitely a very a real sense of community. It’s an amazing thing really, and something I think those who have yet to experience it simply don’t understand.

    Thanks for sharing,

    S

  3. Thanks for the props! I am very happy to offer my thoughts — and of course thrilled to read what’s going on. So many times, I find that, if left to my own devices, I can overthink things and end what could have been great. My friends & family are the reason I’ve had great relationships in the past. They help pull the veil away from my eyes when I think someone is too perfect, or reassure me when I have doubts. Sometimes, I just NEED that sounding-board, you know? I can relate.

    No one is an island, and I’m glad no blogger has to be either.

    Thanks for letting me into your world! I’m honored. 🙂

  4. I love this. Thank you for the mention!

    It’s an amazing thing, this dating/relationship community I seem to have somehow miraculously become a part of. It’s a whole new world that, six months ago, I had no clue about.

    I’m so please to have made your acquaintance and like Skye said above, I’ve become connected to so many bloggers that I haven’t yet met in person.

    Great post
    😉

  5. Awwww, thanks so much for the shout-out, you are a total sweetheart!

    I am glad to have found your corner of the web. I find so much comfort in visiting blogs I can really connect with, and I definitely feel that way with yours. It’s funny. I never knew what to expect when I first started about a year ago, but I’m surprised at what I’ve learned about myself and about blogging in the process. It’s fascinating, and something I would never trade for the world.

    I’m glad you’re doing this, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

