Email of the Day: The Married Man

The latest from OkStCupid:

HE SAID: Hi! Would you ever consider getting together with a married man?

SHE SAID: Never. Please don’t insult my integrity, morals and intelligence

HE SAID (immediately): Umm…all I can say is you have a LOT to learn. Good luck to you.

BACKGROUND (Taken from The Married Man’s Profile):

I’ve been married for [more than 10] years, and the past five or six years have been void of any passion. If you haven’t experienced that kind of thing, you cannot comprehend the frustration and loneliness that carries, especially when you’re the only one feeling that way. I’ve done everything I can to help the situation, but it’s a one-way street, and I’m just exhausted. It’s time to me to start moving on…she already has. For now, I just want to have a little fun again and remind myself why exactly it’s time for me to make that huge step.

I’m looking for:

  • For new friends, casual sex

SHE SAID: A lot to learn? Definitely from life, am not sure what positive I could learn from “casual sex” with you. If your marriage is so devoid of something that is so crucial to you, and in your profile you imply your wife has “moved on” in that area anyway, what is keeping you married? Kids? Convenience? Inertia?

I honesty really don’t want to know, but it seems like you would be a hell of a lot happier if you addressed what is really making your marriage unhappy (divorce if you need to) rather than just hitting on a woman who is specifically looking for a real relationship, not “casual sex” outside of a marriage like you are. Truly, good luck to you!

* * *

Surprisingly there has been no reply after that. Seriously, I don’t know what guys are thinking half the time. Apparently it would appear these guys in a relationship do get some takers on dating sites, which is the saddest thing.

What are some of the more outrageous propositions you’ve experienced or heard from the online dating world?

7 thoughts on “Email of the Day: The Married Man

  1. I’ve gotten this type of thing SO many times. It’s irritating. As for more outrageous I had one guy absolutely unable to understand why I wouldn’t jump on a plane and go to another continent after ONE email.

    The odd thing is months later I did jump on a plane and go to another continent to meet a man. The situation was different though and we didn’t meet on a dating site. Just a chance friendship that ended up being a bit more.

    • After one email is definitely extreme…but I definitely don’t judge you for flying to another continent to meet a man after knowing him a while- I crossed a border when I was younger and braver after a few months of friendship myself. πŸ˜‰

  2. Sadly, not one of my male friends are being faithful right now, not to their wives, or girlfriends(live in or not).

  3. “Can I borrow $500 to pay my rent?” Seriously, I had a woman I never met before ask me this after a short IM on the old Yahoo Personals site.

Leave a Reply

