The Effect of Being More Independent in Your Relationship

moreindependentmeFor three years, I have navigated the dating and relationship world without a license. I know, at the age of 35, it shocks me that I’ve been able to endure it for so long too! It has tested my independence (and patience), as I’ve had to rely on my dates or my parents to transport me, which means that someone else has largely dictated when, where and how long I will spend time in someone else’s company. So how will my life and my relationship change now that I am getting my license back?

Being more independent in your relationship makes you a better, more complete you!

Read more about The Effect of Being More Independent in Your Relationship in my column for Singles Warehouse.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Effect of Being More Independent in Your Relationship

  1. Being too independent can cause friction in a relationship. In fact,why form a relationship with someone if you wish to be “more” independent? So basically, being independent in a relationship is a oxymoron in my opinion.

    • There’s a difference between being independent while maintaining your own sense of self and being selfish while oblivious of your partner’s needs. The former allows you not to be overly dependent or co-dependent on someone else for your own worth and happiness. Instead you come together, both whole, and have a stronger, healthier bond as a couple.

Leave a Reply

