How to Address the Dubious Sexual Double Standard for Women

sexual double standard for women

Src: flickr/JimmyBrown

Much of the discussion over the racy (or raunchy) VMA performance by former Disney star Miley Cyrus has focused on whether it was pointlessly over-the-top, whether it was morally irresponsible for a star with so many young fans, and even on whether her allegedly crude gestures and antics were offensive to black people. These are all interesting topics to debate, and I have elsewhere at length. But one thing that is also pressing on my mind is how to address the dubious sexual double standard for women today.

Blurred Lines On Young Women’s Behavior

There are more blurred lines for young women growing up today than what’s in Robin Thicke’s slick pop song, but some of his lyrics help shed light on the problem. Thicke croons that he’s going to take a good girl who <i>must</i> want to get nasty because of the wild way she behaves. The way she dresses is a green light for him to come in and “liberate” her from the type of lover who “tried to domesticate” her. Does this sound familiar to anyone else in today’s dating world? How many of us have just wanted a fun night out on the town, decked out in high heels and bare legs, simply looking to feel sexy while out dancing with friends, when we’ve run into the guy who wouldn’t believe us when we asserted, “not interested!”

Go to Singles Warehouse to read more about the

The Dubious Sexual Double Standard for Experienced Women

2 thoughts on “How to Address the Dubious Sexual Double Standard for Women

  1. As catchy as I find this song, I think the lyrics are incredibly misogynistic and unfair. It’s exactly like you said: there are just times I like to feel sexy and hang out with my girlfriends and just because I got dolled up doesn’t mean I’m *looking.”

    Yes, we have a terrible double standard in our society. But I still can’t stand Miley :p

    • I know, I find myself grooving on “Blurred Lines” too despite the misogynistic lines, that Robin Thicke only reinforces in his interviews. Ugh.

      I still can’t stand Miley either 😉

Leave a Reply

